

Ashington Town Council
Town Hall
65 Station Road
Ashington Northumberland NE63 8RX
Town Clerk: Mike Slaughter

Tel: (01670) 624520 / 624521

E-mail: mikeslaughter@ashingtontowncouncil.gov.uk

Website: www.ashingtontowncouncil.gov.uk

ASHINGTON TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Full Council Meeting held at 6:00pm on Tuesday 7 May 2019, at the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Station Road, Ashington.

PRESENT:

Councillors: Mark Purvis (Chair) Eleanor Armstrong

Victor Bridges Avril Chisholm
Matthew Cuthbert Stephen Fenwick
Brian Gallacher Lynne Grimshaw
Lawrence Henderson Liam Lavery

IN ATTENDANCE:

Mike Slaughter – Town Clerk & Responsible Finance Officer Stephen Humphrey – Funding & Projects Officer Sharon Parmley – Senior Administration Officer Members of the Public – 1

C19/829 1. ELECTION OF BUSINESS CHAIR.

Cllr. Purvis thanked members and staff for their support during his term of office as Business Chair and reported that it had been a good year for the Town Council with many achievements and accomplishment of significant work.

Cllr. Purvis invited nominations for the position of Business Chair of the Town Council.

Resolved:

That Cllr. Mark Purvis be duly elected as Business Chair of Ashington Town Council for the Civic Year 2019/20.

Cllr Purvis, as re-elected Business Chair, signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office in the prescribed form and assumed the Chair.

C19/830 2. ELECTION OF BUSINESS VICE-CHAIR.

Cllr. Purvis invited nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Town Council.

Resolved:

That Cllr. Liam Lavery be duly elected as Vice Business Chair of Ashington Town Council for the Civic Year 2019/20.

C19/831 3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE.

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. Marjorie Chambers, Nicola Chambers, Jim Lang, Kris Lavery, Ken Parry Pauline Thompson, Bob Walkinshaw and Tom Wilson.

C19/832 4. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS.

There were no disclosures of interest from members present.

C19/833 5. ELECTION OF CIVIC HEAD OF ASHINGTON.

The Business Chair invited nominations for the position of Civic Head of Ashington

Resolved:

That Cllr. Lawrence Henderson be duly elected as Civic Head of Ashington for the Civic Year 2019/20.

C19/834 6. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CIVIC HEAD OF ASHINGTON.

The Business Chair invited nominations for the position of Deputy Civic Head of Ashington.

Resolved:

That Cllr. Pauline Thompson be duly elected as Deputy Civic Head of Ashington for the Civic Year 2019/20.

C19/835 7. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL.

Resolved:

That Cllr. Stephen Fenwick be duly elected as Leader of Ashington Town Council.

C19/836 8. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL.

Resolved:

That Cllr. Matthew Cuthbert be duly elected as Deputy Leader of Ashington Town Council.

C19/837 9. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES.

Resolved:

That;

- (i) Leader of the Council, Stephen Fenwick be appointed representative to Northumberland Association of Local Councils (NALC),
- (ii) Cllr. Marjorie Chambers and the Town Clerk be appointed representatives to Ashington Town Team,
- (iii) Cllr. Matthew Cuthbert be appointed representative to Wansbeck Valley Food Bank,
- (iv) Cllr. Mark Purvis be appointed representative to Northumberland Community Bank,
- (v) Cllr. Avril Chisholm be appointed representative to Northumberland Community Voluntary Action (CVA),
- (vi) Cllr. Bob Walkinshaw be appointed representative to Northumberland Federation of YMCA's,
- (vii) Cllr. Brian Gallacher be appointed representative to Real Deal Plus (Ashington Life Centre),

- (viii) Cllr. Eleanor Armstrong be appointed representative to Northumberland CAB, and
- (ix) Cllrs. Matthew Cuthbert, Lynne Grimshaw,
 Marjorie Chambers, Eleanor Armstrong and Avril
 Chisholm be appointed as members of the
 Neighbourhood Services Partnership 2019-2024.

C19/838 10. DATE, TIME AND VENUE FOR THE NEXT MEETING.

The next meeting of Full Council was scheduled for Tuesday 18 June 2019, at 6.00pm, to formally consider and approve the 2018/19 Annual Governance Statement and Accounting Statements, in the Council Chamber, Ashington Town Hall.

The meeting closed at 7:45pm