

Ashington Town Council Town Hall 65 Station Road Ashington Northumberland NE63 8RX Town Clerk: Mike Slaughter Tel: (01670) 624521

E-mail: mikeslaughter@ashingtontowncouncil.gov.uk

Website: www.ashingtontowncouncil.gov.uk

To: ALL MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

You are hereby invited to attend a meeting of ASHINGTON TOWN COUNCIL to be held at <u>Hirst Welfare Centre</u>, <u>Alexandra Road</u>, <u>Ashington NE63 9XQ on Tuesday</u> 21 September 2021 at 7.00 p.m.

The Agenda for the meeting is set out below.

Mike Slaughter
Clerk to the Town Council

16 September 2021

PUBLIC PARTCIPATION

The Chair to invite members of the public present to put any questions to, or draw relevant matters to the attention of the Council, prior to the commencement of business. This is to be for a period of 15 minutes overall and is limited to 3 minutes per person.

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE.

2. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS.

Unless already entered in the Council's Register of Members' interests, members are required to disclose any personal interest, (which includes any disclosable pecuniary interest), they may have in any of the items included on the agenda for the meeting in accordance with the Code of Conduct adopted by the Council on the 3 July 2012.

Members are reminded that if they have any personal interests of a prejudicial nature they must not participate in any discussion or vote on the matter and must leave the room. Any member needing clarification must contact the Town Clerk.

3. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

To sign as a correct record, the minutes of the Full Council meeting held on 29 June 2021.

4. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES.

To consider any matters arising from the minutes not covered elsewhere on the agenda.

5. REPORT FROM THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL (Clir. Matthew Cuthbert)

6. JACK CHARLTON STATUE PROJECT (CIIr. Liam Lavery)

To consider and discuss a revision to the commissioned work for the statue project.

7. DATE, TIME AND VENUE FOR THE NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Full Council is scheduled for Tuesday 23 November 2021, venue to be agreed.

8. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The Town Council is invited to consider passing the following resolution:

- (a) That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items on the Agenda as they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part I of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended by the Local Authorities (Access to Information) (Exempt Information) (England) Order 2006) Act; and
- (b) That the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosure for the following reasons: -

Paragraph of Part I of Schedule 12A as amended (1, 2 and 4)

- Information relating to any individual,
- information which is likely to reveal the identity of an individual; and
- information relating to any consultations or negotiations, or contemplated consultations or negotiations in connection with any labour relations matter arising between the authority or a Minister of the Crown and employees of, or office holders under, the Authority.

AND:

(c) that the public interest in maintaining this exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosure because disclosure would adversely affect the Authority's ability to conduct its affairs.

9. APPOINTMENT OF A NEW TOWN CLERK/RESPONSIBLE FINANCE OFFICER (Cllr. Lynne Grimshaw)

Further to the formal interviews held on 16 September 2021, to receive a report and recommendations from the Chair of Finance & General Services Committee for the appointment of a new Town Clerk & Responsible Finance Officer.

10. RETIREMENT OF THE CURRENT TOWN CLERK & RESPONSIBLE FINANCE OFFICER (Cllr. Lynne Grimshaw).

To consider, discuss and agree:

- The retirement date of the current Town Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer; and
- The interim and transition arrangements prior to the commencement of employment of the new Town Clerk & Responsible Finance Officer.

ASHINGTON TOWN COUNCILLORS:

Mark Purvis (Business Chair), Marjorie Chambers (Vice-Business Chair) Eleanor Armstrong, Caroline Ball, Michelle Brannigan, Victor Bridges, Louis Brown, Vicky Brown, Avril Chisholm, Matthew Cuthbert, Lynne Grimshaw, Lawrence Henderson, Jim Lang, Liam Lavery, Sophie Robinson, Pauline Thompson, John Tully, Bob Walkinshaw.